EXIT #79 - Metaphotography View larger

EXIT #79 - Metaphotography

Producciones de Arte y Pensamiento, S.L.

New product

EXIT #79 - Metaphotography

More details

Data sheet

EditorialProducciones de Arte y Pensamiento, S.L.
YearAugust / 2020
LanguageSpanish / English
FormatRustic with cover


25,00 €

More info

EXIT #79 - Metaphotography

The presence of the photograph within other photographs is a self-reference that, in some way, reflects the point at which it reaches adulthood, when it itself becomes the subject, when it becomes part of the story, the narration, in its own right. And it is the continuation of the continuous link, or perhaps bond, that photography shares with painting that provides the point from which photography has always peered out since its inception.

Rosa Olivares’ text makes a historical journey through photographs in which the presence of the image within the image has been relevant to make photographic language itself evolve. In the dossiers, we address the work of Bertien van Manen, Alex Dorfsman, Vivane Sassen, Carmen Winant, Ximena Berecochea, Taysir Batniji, Kenneth Josephson and Dawit L. Petros. Eight views on the same topic that offer us multiple perspectives and approaches.

From the exploration of Kenneth Josephson, who allowed photography to be given the ability to be a conceptual language, through the work of Taysir Batniji, with a much more anthropological perspective, to Bertien van Manen, who photographs other people’s memories that, of course, take form of photographs.

A photo within a photo, a metalanguage: this is how we could summarize this new issue of EXIT.

A photo within a photo within a photo

Rosa Olivares. Metaphotography: from inside the image


John Baldessari, Taysir Batniji, Ximena Berecochea, Alex Dorfsman, Robert Frank, Alberto García-Alix, Kenneth Josephson, Priya Kambli, Mark Klett y Byron Wolfe, Leandro Katz, Barbara Kruger, Sherrie Levine, Bertien van Manen, Jana Sophia Nolle, Gloria Oyarzabal, Dawit L. Petros, Adrian Rheinländer, Martha Rosler, Viviane Sassen, John Stezaker, Andy Sewell, Aby Warburg, Carmen Winant.