EXIT #52 - On the Edge View larger

EXIT #52 - On the Edge

Producciones de Arte y Pensamiento, S.L.

New product

On the Edge

More details

Data sheet

EditorialProyectos Utópicos S.L
YearNovember / 2013
LanguageSpanish / English
PagesFrom 160 to 200


En Stock

25,00 €

More info

EXIT #52 - On the Edge


It is the eye that defines the limits, that increasingly deepens and expands the possibility of forging ahead, of conquering, because reaching the limit, crossing that frontier that few reach, is nothing if it cannot be shown, if it cannot be photographed. So the gaze needs the complement of photography.

The overwhelming earth, the scorching ice, the unfathomable water, the dangers of invisible boundaries, but also, and increasingly, the limits of the unknown: if this world is already known, we need to create eyes that see further, cameras that can take our gaze where our bodies cannot go. There are telescopes that help us see the furthest reaches of the universe, far beyond the moon and Mars. The world may have become small, travel, emigration and exploration of new resources may take thousands of people anywhere, but the solitary individual is still the one who reaches the most inaccessible crevices. The journey need not be physical, however. When the imagination transports us, those limits are also photographed, because the only limits of a photographer are the limits of the gaze, with or without help, but limits only exist there where the gaze of an artist does not reach.

This issue of EXIT examines these limits, the most remote places one can reach, and their relation to photography. It is a way of exploring how far photography and photographers can go today.

The Limits of the Gaze. Rosa Olivares

The Worst Journey in the World. Robert Scott / Apsley Cherry-Garrad

Céline Clanet, Chrystel Lebas, Jem Southam, Zoé T. Vizcaíno, Luisa Zanzani.

Olivo Barbieri, Guido Baselgia, Sonja Braas, Balthasar Burkhard, Thomas Joshua Cooper, Sabine Delcour, Miguel Fernández de Castro, Andreas Gefeller, Joris Jansen, Mireya Masó, Fernando Montiel Klint, Miguel Ángel Ortega, Thomas Ruff, Gerco de Ruijter, Alfredo de Stefano, Javier Vallhonrat, Thomas Weinberger.